top of page

Moorestown, NJ

I spent three nights in New York. Three days of walking all around and exploring all of the touristy places one does their first time in NY. Central Park, Rockafeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Statue of Liberty, Ground Zero, Trinity Church among others. Although I was not allowed into the library because apparently after 9/11 one cannot go in with a larger than normal backpack. I had to settle for the less glamourous library across the street with all of the other terrorists. I even got to meet up with some old friends. I did sample the pizza shortly after arriving, still having the taste Chicago's deep dish pizza in my mouth. The debate between the two is pretty stupid I think. They are two totally different things. If I could have one of them for the rest of my life in would be NY style. If I could have one for one single meal it would be Chicago. Anyways I was starting to get anxious to start so I hopped on a ferry a day early towards NJ.

My first day of walking didn't start until about 4pm (the moment my cart arrived). After putting it together I set out and within minutes my old friend was there to greet me. The rain. The rain hammered down upon me. The kind of rain I had not felt in some time, like it was angry at me.The kind of rain that drenches your socks on contact. The kind of rain that gathers and splashes your entire body when the cars pass by. Then came the hail. The thunder crashed in the distance just to remind me of the severity of the elements. They had been waiting for me ever since I had bested them less than two years ago. I decided then to never let the elements dictate what I had planned to accomplish in a given day. During my last coast to coast walk it rained 45 of the first 90 days. I thought I just had bad luck, maybe this is just the norm. I guess it doesn't really matter. It doesn't if things are going to be difficult or easy on this walk. I'm going to do it anyways. This was my very own baptism as a new member to the road. I should have seen this coming as the night before I dreamt of swimming in the ocean only to see airplanes raining down into the water and exploding.

My feet feel heavy and slow, yet my legs are not sore at all. I feel like I should be covering more ground than I am, but I guess I haven't quite found my walking rhythm just yet, though I feel like I am close. I have yet to be pulled over in the first three days. I did speak to a cop today who was setting up cones to block the street. He asked which way I was going and I told him to the right as I pointed. He replied "be careful, everyone is crazy out there." That continues to be the theme, nobody trusts anybody down the road from them. "I'm told they always are." - Me

These long walks always have a tendoncies to make me feel alone, and I am for a large amounts of time. I definitely felt that on my 3rd day. Then again, I have always felt that way no matter where I was. I think a piece of me always will. It the the most familiar feeling to me, almost like home. I am nostalgic for it even though the feeling has never truly left me. There is no real difference in being alone and feeling alone. At least now I understand that it is not necessarily a bad thing. I think it gives me an edge, a drive to make things better. I didn't used to have that.

My third day was the first with no rain. Everything was perfect today. The clear blue sky and lush green grass looked as though they had a vibrant Instagram filter on them. The maze of bare jagged branches pierced the clouds. Each tree looking like the one on the Angry Orchard cans. The cider tasting alcoholic beverage that is only consumed at 4am when all of the beer is gone and the girl who brought them had either left or fallen asleep.

I decided to change my route last night. Instead of walking down to Cape May, NJ and taking a ferry to Delaware, I decided to head west and I will be in Philadelphia by the end of the day. I don't know why exactly other than it just felt right. I love not having a set route and I can just change my mind and go wherever I want all the time. I love the freedom.

I saw several historical sites in NY and I'm hoping to see some more when I get to Philadelphia. It's not totally because I am so interested in the historical significance or the architecture, although I am. I think maybe just a small part of me is following Nicolas Cage's footsteps in the movie "National Treasure." I too will find the treasure.

My sleeping arrangements so far:

Night 1- just off a country road between trees blanketed with thick rugs like makeshift walls to a one time fort.

Night 2- Alone in the woods, not a soul in sight.

Night 3- In the woods that lined the outer perimeter of a large town park

It am way more comfortable off the bat finding these hidden spots although I always lay up at night listening to and analyzing each sound, making sure nobody objects to my camping in these spots. It is like I have my ear up against the wall listening to something in another room.

No Sidenotes yet, but i'm compiling some new material.

historical significance or the architecture, although I am. I think maybe just a small part of me is following Nicolas Cage's footsteps in the movie "National Treasure." I too will find the treasure.


bottom of page