top of page

On the Road Again

On April 1st 2017 I will be heading back out on the road, and of course I will be active on this blog to share my experiences with all of you who are interested. I will be flying to New York and eventually walking back to the west coast once again. I have a general idea of the route I would like to take but it is always subject to change. I have never been a big fan of planning ahead, that is simply no fun.

It has been18 months since I completed my first coast to coast walk. In the beginning it was a shock to return to a normal life. It was all overwhelming at first. The noise on the streets of the city, wearing jeans, bathing everyday, the lack of constant change in everyday life. I have lived in both Berkeley and back home in Visalia. I even spent 5 months getting in the best shape of my life and attempting to play baseball once more. I have written the first draft of an entire book including the details of my first walk across the country. In the last 7 months I have been working and living with my sister in the bay area. I can feel that everything I learned and felt about myself only 18 months ago slowly fade away. This life has become far too routine. In these mundane times I begin to fall into the trap of basic human life. I become boring. I isolate myself from others. I begin to lose confidence in myself. Life becomes too comfortable. I remember sitting on a picnic table top taking in the Wyoming sunset. I promised myself that I would allow my life to continue to constantly change. Don't get me wrong I definitely want to do this walk, but I am also deathly afraid of what will happen to me if I don't. I plan on starting this new endeavor around April 1st. I will have more information for you all soon.

Donations are always appreciated. Your money will go towards the bare essentials of survival on the road. Most of my nights are spent hidden somewhere among the trees. The crevices of our country. Once in a while it is nice to splurge on a cheap motel to get out of the elements and keep my sanity for the night. My meals generally consist of canned goods and anything I can put peanut butter on. You can see that it honestly take much to keep me happy and moving forward. I spend far less money on the road than I do in my current normal human life. Also 25% of all donations will be sent to a non profit organization called To Write Love on Her Arms. To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery. I was moved by the story written by Jamie Tworkowski and you can read it here : https://twloha.com/learn/story/

You can follow my story for the duration of my walk on here as well as Instagram and Facebook. You can find me on there through the social media buttons at the top of my homepage. You can donate via paypal on the homepage as well.

Thank you.


bottom of page