top of page

Cullman, AL

It is Thursday March 26, 2015. I sit here on the Canafax’s couch watching basketball smelling some sort of deliciousness being cooked up in the kitchen by Betty and Jeff. This is the second night in a row staying here.Immediately they have made me feel at home here. I’ll get more into that later. It is day 23 and I have gone about 522 miles. Over the 500 mile mark! I realized today that the people driving cars alongside me all day, and the puzzled looks I receive from them have now changed hands. I have grown so used to walking all day I have begun to look at them as if they’re the ones doing something unconventional. Being alone most of the time makes me feel like I have no outside influence, nobody to tell me what I’m doing isn’t normal. I do this everyday, so to me, this is the norm.

Last time I wrote on here I had just entered Alabama amongst the rain which had followed me across the state line. I walked towards Gadsden, AL where I was hoping to receive new tire tubes to fix my front wheel. I picked those up only to realize that many of the spokes had fallen off leaving the bearings unable to turn smoothly. That wheel was promptly fired at a high velocity towards a brick wall. That felt good. I was so frustrated at the situation. I assumed being 3 weeks into my walk I would uncover more hardships in the physical or mental aspects of the walk, but no, it was just a wheel standing in my way. I decided that from that point forward I would no longer be frustrated or angry at the situation, and believe me, I was. This anger just made things harder for me. I know how it feels to only focus on the negative things in your life. It does no good, I need to focus on everything positive.

The next day I walked into the country, a lot of wide open area with beautiful sunny weather. I did this with 2 wheels on the ground. My front wheel no longer had the privilege of touching the road. With my new positive outlook I didn’t even care, I covered over 20 miles with a smile on my face that day. The next 2 nights I camped out with the trees off of the 278. I had talked to my friend Amy a few days before who is from Alabama. Her mother Betty picked me up along the 278 about 20 miles outside of Cullman, AL. She made me feel comfortable right away. She showed me all of the maps in her car and shared stories about the surrounding areas of Alabama. We arrived at their house where I met Jeff He showed me his shop where he eventually fixed my wheel problems. My wheel now rolls straight! Things just may be alright. Betty and Jeff have been so welcoming to me, they demanded I feel at home while here, and I do. I almost feel guilty for accepting anyone to care or be so willing to help me. They cooked probably the two best meals I have had since starting my walk. I ate a weird amount during these meals. I have come to realize that I probably needed to eat. A few days ago I put a quarter into one of those gas station scales that also give you a lucky number. I was shocked when my weight came up as 172 lbs., meaning I have lost 22 lbs. since I began this walk. I knew I was losing weight but I didn’t expect that.

I have switched my route a bit. The new route will shorten my walk from here to Corinth, MS by nearly 90 miles. If everything goes alright, within the next week I will cross into Mississippi and then the border to Tennessee. 3 states in the next week. Exciting things ahead. I feel my lifestyle beginning to take hold of me. I feel so natural with my life structured this way. I have nothing to complain about, my wheel works, I have met many great people, I can walk seemingly forever without getting sore and I am excited about tomorrow, everyday.

SIDENOTES

I remember sitting at the dinner table explaining to Jeff and Betty that I don’t think I have acquired the “homeless” look just yet. As I was saying this Betty said “WAIT” she approached me only to pull a dead mosquito out of my beard. Maybe my look has evolved a little quicker than I thought. As my beard grows and my skin becomes beaten down by the sun I often what other people see in me due to my appearance. I do realize that I no longer care as much as I did 3 weeks ago. My mind has other aspirations.

I have also started listening to audiobooks while I walk, in addition to music and various podcasts (Dan Patrick Show, Bill Burr etc.). I started with yours for eternity by Lori Davis and Damien Echols, it has been very entertaining so far. It consists of letters over the span of 18 years between two lovers, one being on death row for a crime they did not commit. I walked into a bookstore today and read the first 10 pages of “The Alchemist” I think that will be the next book I read.


bottom of page