top of page

Start

The travel to get to South Carolina was brutal, other than about 2 hours of sleep on the Newark airport floor before being woken up by the man cleaning the windows I haven't slept since sunday night.I did have about a 3 hour chat with a 70 year old man named Sam from Richmond, VA to Raleigh, NC he had been riding bus to bus from Idaho and moving back to Smithsville, NC taking everything he owned which was 2 bags. He told me stories about being at Woodstock going to Klan meetings and Vietnam, very interesting man. He said that if I took one thing away from what he said was to not try and grow up too fast. I decided that once I got to Myrtle Beach and got my stuff I would get a motel to sleep before I take off in the morning. So I arrived and walked a total of about 13 miles to retrieve my cart and other supplies and then back towards the 501 where I will start. I plan to walk down to the beach tomorrow morning, touch the Atlantic, then head west... for quite a while. The last half of todays walk was rainy and cold. I remember thinking "what am I doing?" All of this so I can walk in the mud on the side of a road in the rain in South Carolina by myself? My next thought was this is going to be great! I genuinely meant it I was instantly rejuvinated, walking 13 miles my first day in the rain with no sleep. I also really enjoy the quizzical looks from all of the drivers when they see me pushing a cart in the mud. I am excited for what is to come. I also decided to get a burger at the restaurant across from my motel since I really hadn't eaten anything other than beef jerky since I left Fresno. This was a place with a ton of "regulars" they walk in the door and sit down and their drink is already poured. I met some nice people in there, they were fun and genuinely interested in my trip. They even bought me a beer! I really have enjoyed the characters I have come across so far, and I technically haven't even begun. Tomorrow will be fun, taking the 501 out of Myrtle Beach and will actually have to find a place to sleep on my own. In my mind that will be the toughest thing for me to do in these beginning days. Looking forward to it. Ill update again when I can.


bottom of page