top of page

DEREK SHEELY FOUNDATION

In my fundraising efforts for my walk across america I have joined forces with The Derek Sheely Foundation in order to help raise awareness for brain awareness in athletes as well as help fund research. The Derek Sheely Foundation honors Derek Sheely who suffered a brain injury playing football for Frostburg State University and was tragically killed as a result at the age of 22. This is a great foundation that provides awareness kits to kids who play sports as well as coaches and parents.They are committed to “Leading the Way” towards informing young athletes, their parents, and coaches to the signs, symptoms, dangers, and prevention of concussions in order to prevent hundreds of thousands of concussions per year from becoming more. For all donations I receive for my walk across america, 20% will be given to The Derek Sheely Foundation. I will donate 20% in March when I leave for my walk and once again when I return. This means you can continue to donate even after I leave for my walk. I want my walk to help inspire others to learn the risks in concussion especially in sports as well as those who have been effected. I had no control of my emotions and felt like a failure, but worst of all was the feeling of being alone in my condition. The truth is anybody effected does not have to feel alone. A concussion happens every 8 seconds! Here is a link to their site and I hope you can help me spread the word about my walk across america and raise awareness of the seriousness in brain injuries!


bottom of page